Welcome!

This is a membership forum. Guests can view 5 pages for free. To participate, please join.

[ Pitmaster Club Information | Join Now | Login | Contact Us ]

Only 4 free page views remaining.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

KBQ - The "Maiden Voyage"

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

KBQ - The "Maiden Voyage"

KBQ TIPS, TRICKS, AND HELP
    Let's use this thread to "Problem Solve" for KBQ newbies and to help some of us old guys like me.

We can post our very 1st KBQ Smoker experiences, both good AND bad as a help thread.
    I will also post my mistakes and my discoveries here to help those with brand new shiny KBQ's.
    -
    The fact is even after many many smokes, I am still learning...
    Plus ALL of us were newbies with our 1st KBQ smoking Maiden Voyage.
    This could be a way to post help for those with brand new machines and lots of questions.
    -
    Of course, my general KBQ postings and bragging will still go on Ernest's very cool
    KBQ ~ has landed thread.
    Smoke On!
    Last edited by BBQ_Bill; March 30, 2019, 11:07 AM.

My first beef ribs were a bit dry.
    I got into Aaron Franklin's book, and he said to spritz fairly often and then much more near the end of the smoke.
    That DEFINITELY helped and the second batch were way better.
    -
    I also added a 1" deep cookie sheet type tray in the very bottom, which I filled with water.
    It ran out of water fairly quickly, so each time I spritzed, I added more water to this tray.
    -
    These were beef ribs, and I have not done pork ribs... YET
    Last edited by BBQ_Bill; September 10, 2017, 09:50 AM. Reason: Added for clarity as to the type of ribs I smoked

Comment

My first was ribs too. Came out great, but it was a lot quicker cook than I expected. No water, no spritz, but they way they are is the way I like them.

Click image for larger version  Name:	20170219_184649.jpg Views:	1 Size:	2.26 MB ID:	377911

Comment

• BBQ_Bill