Welcome!

This is a membership forum. Guests can view 5 pages for free. To participate, please join.

[ Pitmaster Club Information | Join Now | Login | Contact Us ]

Only 4 free page views remaining.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Pastrami Woes

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Pastrami Woes

Hi All:

Well I ventured off into the world of pastrami and really need some guidance! Here is the scenario. I took a raw corned beef brisket about 7kg, ran water over it for a couple of hours and then soaked it in water for 12+ hours. Using a Cookshack SM150, I smoked the brisket over hickory wood at 225F. It was still far from tender after 12-14 hours. Also it was still as salty as the ocean. I am a beginner at this stuff, but when I have smoked a regular brisket it comes out as tender as butter after that amount of time. So then I plopped it into the oven and steamed it for 3 hours. It's still salty as heck and not tender. Now I am going to boil it until the salt level is acceptable and it's tender. I guess I am confused as to the proper way to do this pastrami thing. I saw Meathead's article of Katz's pastrami and my mouth was watering! Sooooo, first attempt ... FAIL! Any guidance I can get would be greatly appreciated. Thanks, John

When i soak mine i try to change the water every couple of hours

Comment

• customtrim
      customtrim commented
      Editing a comment
      What was the meat temp after you smoked it

Welcome buckhenry.. Welcome to the pit...never made pastrami so I can't help but welcome...

Comment

A hearty welcome from Illinois.

Comment

Hi there buckhenry and welcome to the Pit! First question ..... did you follow @Meathead's recipe fully? If not, where do you deviate it from it?

Also, here's a thread with someone else trying to do exactly what you are trying to do: Turn store corned beef into pastrami. Might be some helpful tips and pointers in here for you.

Comment

• ecowper
          ecowper commented