Welcome!

This is a membership forum. Guests can view 5 pages for free. To participate, please join.

[ Pitmaster Club Information | Join Now | Login | Contact Us ]

Only 4 free page views remaining.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Eric’s Brisket Method

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Eric’s Brisket Method

Okay, I wrote this up for a friend who is a complete newbie to serious BBQ, but wanted to know how I cook brisket. I told him I had learned from Meathead, Aaron Franklin, and The Pit (ie here) and it was now all in my head. He asked me to please try to write it up, so I spent about 4 hours putting this down on paper. Here’s what I wrote up for my friend, plus pictures .... maybe it will help someone. And maybe it is a good place to start arguing ;-)

——————————
    A few notes about brisket
    1. Brisket is the pectoral muscles of the cow. They are very heavily used and very tough, lots of connective tissue and hard/tough muscle. Long, slow cooking is required
    2. A brisket, cooked right, is the finest bbq you can cook.
    3. Spend a bit of money and buy quality meat
    4. buy a whole packer the first time you cook it
    5. Learn how to trim it .... there’s great YouTube videos showing this
    6. Aaron Franklin - great BBQ cook - trims and preps a brisket - https://youtu.be/VmTzdMHu5KU
    7. I actually dry brine my meat .... brisket, steak, chicken, etc ..... for 24 hours, or more .... dry brining is using salt with no liquid to tenderize and flavor the meat. 1/2 tsp of Morton’s kosher salt per pound of meat. Spread it on liberally. Put it in the fridge, uncovered, for at least 1 hour, preferably 24 hours, before cooking.

I suggest that you follow my method exactly the first time you cook a brisket. Once you have it dialed in to the point where you are happy, then start adjusting until you get to your perfect taste.

Rub for the meat .....

1/2 tsp Morton’s Kosher salt per pound