Welcome!

This is a membership forum. Guests can view 5 pages for free. To participate, please join.

[ Pitmaster Club Information | Join Now | Login | Contact Us ]

Only 4 free page views remaining.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Which Fire for Brisket on WSM?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Which Fire for Brisket on WSM?

I am new to the Pitmaster club, but not new to the web site. I am looking forward to participating in the discussions and learning from the masters. I usually use the Minion method for my fire in the WSM when I am cooking a brisket. After listening to Harry Soo and reading on the site I want to try either the Soo doughnut or the Fuse method. I have read that the fuse will last longer. Is this true? If so, does it create a less even heat and does that cause a problem with a brisket? Thanks for your opinion and your experience.

I dont have a WSM I have a Faux Kamado (Akorn) I use what I call the Snake method (a ring of Charcoal around the outside of the fire chamber with a small bucket in the middle and a inch thick flat rock separating the beginning and end of the snake.) I Start the fire on one end and let it burn around. (here is a video where I show it jump to 1:40 sec https://youtu.be/-DbVzIW7NyM ) Make sure you have a diffuser (SP?) IE water pan it will cause the smoke to come up only on the sides (evening out the heat) Get (if you don't have one) a good leave in Thermometer and put it as close to the middle of the grate as possible but 2 inches away from the meat. It will tell you the heat at the grate level. The round shape of the lid of the WSM turns the heat into a confection. So don't worry about where the heat is coming from it will even out if you have the water pan in place. I'm sure actual users of the WSM will be along shortly to let you know for sure!

Comment