Welcome!

This is a membership forum. Guests can view 5 pages for free. To participate, please join.

[ Pitmaster Club Information | Join Now | Login | Contact Us ]

Only 4 free page views remaining.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Trying to work backwards, but still give myself some wiggle room

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Trying to work backwards, but still give myself some wiggle room

I decided that I was going to step up and cook 3 pork butts (8.3, 8.5, and 8.8 lbs) for a party on Saturday. I figured ~90minutes/lb as a guideline. Now, I know you guys know far more than me, because I am still learning, and could offer some advice. I am an early bird, and as such, I am already sitting in my cubicle at work. I plan on rinsing, drying, and rubbing them once I get home. I had originally expected to start the smoker about 1am and have things ready by roughly 3pm, so I could head over, have a few more beers, and serve at 4pm. I would keep the butts in the faux cambro for transport/rest and then into a slow cooker on warm for presentation. The issue I have now, is that I fear I am not going to provide enough time for the cook. I just looked at http://meatsmokingcalculator.com/ and they recommend 97 min/lb and starting the smoker at 8:45pm tonight. I know these are just guidelines, but there is almost a 4 hour difference, plus they want me to crutch! I would rather just let the smoke do it's thing and ride out the stall... Advice on when to start based on your experiences? Planning on setting my pellet smoker at 225 and letting these bad boys cook. Should I really start that early? So you don't have to look me up, I am using a RecTec RT-680 pellet smoker, I live in Virginia (there is a chance for rain today), and the pork butts will be right out of the refrigerator.