Welcome!

This is a membership forum. Guests can view 5 pages for free. To participate, please join.

[ Pitmaster Club Information | Join Now | Login | Contact Us ]

Only 4 free page views remaining.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Rub ideas for different hot dogs

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Rub ideas for different hot dogs

So, I want to put some hot dogs into the smoker and have some fun with them. I plan on trying both beef and turkey hot dogs. I want to spiral cut the dogs to get more surface area to put a rub on them. So, now comes the hard part. I do not know how to come up with my own rubs. Would you use different rubs for these two types of dogs? Would a turkey rub be a good thing to use on the turkey dog?

Some other thoughts I had was to spiral cut a jalapeno pepper and roll it into the spiral cut dog, then maybe wrap in bacon. Then apply more rub. Are these ideas that can work or am I going way overboard? I am a noob at cooking/grilling/smoking at best...

Thanks in advance for any ideas or recommendations.

I smoked hot dogs in one of my basic rubs and the guests didn't leave any for me. Try your favorite rub. Unless they are beef franks (go in the beef direction) they are probably pork and poultry, so any rub that would work on both or either will work well.

Comment

Also think about glazes as a rub is kinda difficult on a dog in my opinion. So far my best has been a pear based-about to go rotten-glaze, and I just use my nose and taste buds while developing the glaze. My process is pretty simple:

1. Buy a bunch of spices!
      2. Pick a sweet, a salt, a savory, and a sour/acid experience.