Welcome!

This is a membership forum. As a guest, you can click around a bit. View 3 pages for free. If you would like to participate, please join.

[ Pitmaster Club Information | Join Now | Contact Us ]

There are 2 page views remaining.

Announcement

Collapse

Meat-Up in Memphis 2021

SOLD OUT! Secure your spot on our waitlist now. First-come, first-served!
Click here for details. (https://amazingribs.com/memphis)
See more
See less

Chuckie on the offset

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • scottranda
    Charter Member
    • May 2015
    • Charlotte, NC

Chuckie on the offset

It’s a beautiful day here in NC. Decided to do a chuckie on the offset. I’ve used my offset several times before so I’m still learning it.

I found a beautiful chuckie that is well marbled.

All oak wood.

temps are fluctuating. I’m kind of wondering if my firebox grate is too high. It’s not allowing for a good coal base to form that fires up the new wood I put in the firebox. its kind of a few inches too far. Anyone dealt with that?

also, I put some wood to preheat on top of the firebox. I found 6-8 black ants on top of my wood. Were they living in my wood?

im also monitoring temps through a live periscope session. It works amazing! I can see my temps anytime and anywhere!

the cook ain’t over yet!
    Attached Files
  • Dan Deter
    Club Member
    • Jun 2018
    • Raleigh, NC
    • Weber Summit S-670
      Thermapen Mk 4

I'm sure the ants were living in then wood. Good luck with the rest of the cook!

Comment

• scottranda
      scottranda commented
      Editing a comment
      Is it a problem? For me, not the ants haha

• Troutman
      Troutman commented
      Editing a comment
      I hear ant smoke imparts an excellent flavor to the meat !!
  • Dan Deter
    Club Member
    • Jun 2018
    • Raleigh, NC
    • Weber Summit S-670
      Thermapen Mk 4

Shouldn't think so.

Comment

• scottranda
      Charter Member
      • May 2015
      • Charlotte, NC