Welcome!

This is a membership forum. Guests can view 5 pages for free. To participate, please join.

[ Pitmaster Club Information | Join Now | Login | Contact Us ]

Only 4 free page views remaining.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

First Brisket Flat on Big Green Egg

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

First Brisket Flat on Big Green Egg

I am new to The Pit and looking for some tips to smoking a brisket flat on a Big Green Egg. This is my first brisket but have smoked other meats. A few questions. Dry Brine? Wrap or no wrap? If so what temp? Inject? Thoughts on using a jaccard tenderizer? Thank you in advance!

First, you should read Meathead's article on Texas beef brisket. There is a lot of wonderful information on cooking briskets.
    Behold the best smoked brisket recipe ever! Texas style brisket is more than a recipe, it is a concept and a goal. It all begins by selecting the right meat, trimming it, seasoning it, smoking it, slicing it, and more. Follow this easy BBQ brisket guide for mouthwatering results!

You should start by buying the highest grade flat you can find. This will make a big difference. Try to buy Prime. Even if you cant find a Prime flat, go for the Prime full packer brisket. Then you get a point (the best part, IMO) and a flat.

You should dry brine for at least a day before you cook the brisket. After a day of brining, you can choose to inject if you want too. Make sure you use low-sodium broth. Because you don't want to much salt in the brisket. I don't inject my briskets, I find that it doesn't make that much of a difference. Unless you have a professional injection brine. They contain phosphates, which can really up the beefy boldness of a brisket as well as retain moisture.