Welcome!

This is a membership forum. Guests can view 5 pages for free. To participate, please join.

[ Pitmaster Club Information | Join Now | Login | Contact Us ]

Only 4 free page views remaining.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Choosing a Stick Burner

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Choosing a Stick Burner

Hello!

Long time reader, new member here and would love your advice. I am interested in buying my first stick burner and am trying to land on the right one. I've been using a WSCG for about two years as my first foray into smoking after grilling on a gasser for about 4 years prior and have loved the versatility it provides, but I'm after the "holy grail" bbq flavor profile of pure wood. I will likely keep the WSCG for grilling needs and 'hands off' smoking. Here's several notes:
    • Narrowed down to KBQ, traditional offset (probably Peoria Custom Cookers as I can drive there to minimize shipping, but am open), Engelbrecht Braten 1000 (I know the grilling function is duplicative, but the prospect of cooking meat over open flames is just carnally satisfying along with smoking)
    • Budget up to $4.5k total, but would like to stay around $3k or less if possible
    • Cook for immediate family, but would want capacity for 10-15 person gatherings. I also like to cook in bulk, vacuum seal, deep freeze.
    • Wife-imposed limit of two cookers total
    • Don't mind tending fire. I do have two young kids (3 or less), but will always be around the cooker if they're outside so not sure this is a huge issue
    • I like to cook year-around, which means single digits in Iowa over winter along with generally disappointing weather in all extremes the rest of the year
    • Cooker would be stored in garage and moved to pavement during cook, or on pavers in the backyard.
    • I haven't had the need to transport the smoker from my house and I don't foresee my wife allowing me to do competitions anytime soon.