Welcome!

This is a membership forum. Guests can view 5 pages for free. To participate, please join.

[ Pitmaster Club Information | Join Now | Login | Contact Us ]

Only 4 free page views remaining.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

I think I just wasted 3 lbs of pork belly

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

I think I just wasted 3 lbs of pork belly

I went to smoke 3 lbs of pork belly for bacon per MH recipe on this site and two hours after putting in the smoker it was only at 140. I had failed to reset the thermostat (electric smoker) so it was set at 140. I cranked it to 225 and about 20-25 minutes later it was up to 150. My concern is that it was in the smoker for two hours at such a low temp. Should I just pitch it?

I'm no expert but I think after it gets over 160° for a short period of of time any bacteria that may have been present on the surface of your meat will be eliminated. I say cook on!
    Last edited by Breadhead; July 1, 2015, 01:02 PM.

Comment

As Wartface says if the concern is bacteria it will be long gone. I started pork butts yesterday and they took 3 hours to get to an IT of 140, nothing bad about that at all. I did have to toss some chucks after my fridge went down on me, but those were in the 50 degree range for 24 hours, that's too much.

Comment

Well, I decided to give it a go and fried up 4 slices today. Status update in 24 hours

Comment

Hope everything comes out all right, @ Dr ROK.

Kathryn

Comment

131 degrees for one hour pasteurizes food. You should be fine.
            Plus you used Prague right?
            Last edited by Ernest; July 1, 2015, 10:44 AM.

Comment

Well, 24 hours later and no gastrointestinal distress, and the best bacon I've made so far. Glad I didn't throw it out!!!!!

Comment

It takes 25hrs to attack your innards. (j/k)

Comment

• Dr ROK
                  Dr ROK commented
                  Editing a comment