Welcome!

This is a membership forum. Guests can view 5 pages for free. To participate, please join.

[ Pitmaster Club Information | Join Now | Login | Contact Us ]

Only 4 free page views remaining.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Freezing and thawing pork butt

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Freezing and thawing pork butt

Hey all,

I picked up a 10 lb pork butt two days ago. I was hoping to try smoking it this weekend, but Saturday has 80% chance of rain (front coming through) and Sunday will be distinctly breezy and ridiculously cold (high of 46....what? That's cold for down here!), so I am uncertain if I'll be able to get to it.

I have no experience in freezing meats well. The pork butt is encased in relatively thick plastic. To freeze this, should I just put it in the freezer as is? Or do I need to take it out of its packaging and package it differently? If so, in what? (My freezer is set to 0 degrees F.)

A related question....when it comes time for me to thaw it (when it is warmer and the days are longer), how long should I expect a 10 lb port butt to thaw in a refrigerator set to 35 degrees?

--Michael

The butt’s in a cryovac bag? That’s a thick plastic vacuum sealed bag. If so, freeze it in the bag. I’d put it in the fridge three days before I wanna cook it. Not a big deal if it isn’t completely thawed when you throw it on the smoker. Is your freezer a deep freezer? Most fridge freezer combos don’t get down to zero in the freezer. If you wanna keep it more than a couple months, it really should stay below zero.

Comment

Yes, freeze the butt in the cryovac it comes in. I routinely buy butts any time they are on sale, and have had as many as a dozen in the deep freeze before. I've had them in there for a year or more too.