Welcome!

This is a membership forum. Guests can view 5 pages for free. To participate, please join.

[ Pitmaster Club Information | Join Now | Login | Contact Us ]

Only 4 free page views remaining.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Pulled pork, Kettle, SnS, no crutch...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Pulled pork, Kettle, SnS, no crutch...

I want to make a pulled pig, using the SnS on a 22 inch kettle and I don't want to use the crutch.

Any suggestions/tips/tricks that aren't readily available on this site? Bark is king for me. so I'm considering cutting it in half to increase surface area. What else will help me not go insane. I haven't cooked anything bigger than a rack of ribs on the kettle yet, so I'm a total noob where big, long cooks are concerned.

Cut it in half as you say, that will give you a lot more bark. Except for that, tune your grill to < 250 def F, and just wait it out. You’ll be fine!

Comment

Start early, give yourself up 12 hours, you can always cambro if it comes off early. Be prepared to tend/add to your fire once or twice during your cook (including poking the ash down in the SnS). Be patient, enjoy the cook, and don't sweat it. Oh, and post pics or it never happened!

Comment

Butts are one of the easiest meats to cook low and slow. Try to get the pit temp fairly steady, but don't get upset if the temp goes up and down a bit. Anywhere between 225* and 300* will work, but as Henrik said, try to keep it closer to 225* - 250*.

Comment

I never crutch my Boston butts, either on the offset or kettle + SNS. Just be patient, as it will take a long time. I've had them take anywhere from 12 to 18 hours, depending on size (7 to 10 pounds usually for me).

Comment