Welcome!

This is a membership forum. Guests can view 5 pages for free. To participate, please join.

[ Pitmaster Club Information | Join Now | Login | Contact Us ]

Only 4 free page views remaining.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Questions about curing and stuff

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Questions about curing and stuff

Hi! I just did my first batch of homemade bacon... Delicious! Even though I was still nervous as hell over the botulism risk.

Got some questions during the process... At some point in my life, I was a medical student and I saw people with Botulism... That's something I DON'T want me or my family to experience.

This is for wet cures, not dry cures!

How do you detect if what you are curing is going bad?
    I've read Meatheads article on curing and so far:
    a) The meat should smell fresh, a little briny, not funny
    b) No molds on the curing liquid
    c) No bubbles (Total absence of bubbles? Some bubbles?)

Any other markers that would make you guys think that maybe this batch is not such a good idea?

Thanks
    Fer

I'll say trust your instincts, if you suspect something wrong don't eat it. That said, if you follow the recipe I sincerely doubt you'll have any problems.

Comment

I would like to understand the bubbles thing. There were some bubbles on my ziploc tools, but I wasn't sure they were there because I wasn't able to completely vacuum seal the bags or if I got something alive in there. I checked the meat and smell when it came out, and there wasn't anything off

Comment

Bubbles would be a sign of fermentation, a by product of bacteria eating sugars, and would not appear in a sealed bag. The bag would swell up like a balloon since the CO2 created would not have anywhere to go. If you cure in a container, like the ham pictured after 'Wet Cures' you would see bubbles on the surface.

Comment

So basically some small bubbles over 3 days of curing would not be a problem?

Comment