Welcome!

This is a membership forum. Guests can view 5 pages for free. To participate, please join.

[ Pitmaster Club Information | Join Now | Login | Contact Us ]

Only 4 free page views remaining.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

First Pork Butt

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

First Pork Butt

So I picked up a pork butt last night excited about trying it for the first time. I live in a small town so finding one was a struggle to begin with. Once I was successful I ended up injecting it and putting some rub on it overnight. I’m a teacher so I’m up early and started the grill for my wife this morning and set the vents where I thought they needed to be. It was ok but after the meat was put on by my wife at 9am (we have a 2 year old and an an almost two month old so her morning is busy). I had my Thermoworks smoke telling her where the temps were at. She texted me a couple hours into the cook the temps. The grill temp was 185 so I asked her to open the vents up some more. I was thinking it was going to be an hour per pound which would have put us around 7-8 hrs. I should have estimated longer. At 330 when I got home the internal was at 145 and grill temp was 240 which I was ok with because I wanted to eat before midnight. I ended up wrapping it in foil at 160* at 430 and it was probe tender at 545 at 195* but the grill had worked its way up to 300 for the last hour. I was curious how this would effect it and I think it may have. After a 40 minute rest I pulled it. The bone pulled out with some effort. Here was definitely some really tender parts but most took some work to tear. It was plenty moist which I was happy to see. Any help with the next one is appreciated! Here are a few pics.

After pulling at 160*
    Click image for larger version

Name:	A474410B-C942-475C-9F31-C44433ACDF42.jpeg
Views:	82
Size:	109.0 KB
ID:	441875 after pulling it

Name:	E9A50CC9-AF86-4238-BB4C-2C10CC3DEA0C.jpeg
Views:	81
Size:	185.9 KB