Welcome!

This is a membership forum. Guests can view 5 pages for free. To participate, please join.

[ Pitmaster Club Information | Join Now | Login | Contact Us ]

Only 4 free page views remaining.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Terra cotta covered roaster instead of aluminum foil for Texas crutch

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Terra cotta covered roaster instead of aluminum foil for Texas crutch

I am new to smoking meats and on a steep learning curve. For instance, I just made pulled pork and learned about the stall AFTER I had already given up on any continuing rise in the temperature of the meat. I achieved success, but my technique was improvised. I would appreciate feedback on using aluminum foil as a wrap on the pork butt, versus the method I used with a terra cotta covered roasting pan. I skewered boneless pork butts from Costco on the turkey hangers for the PBC, rubbed them with olive oil and Butt Rub and then hung them at about 335. Meat was about 53. Temp came down to 260, pretty much stayed there with the usual fluctuations of the PBC. Meat zoomed to 150 in about an hour and a half. Took another four hours to get to 159, at which point I gave up on the PBC. Transferred the butts to a terra cotta covered roasting pan, and put them in the oven (I know, heresy to depart from the charcoal smoker), and kept them in there for three hours at 275. They came out at 203. I did not add a liquid to the roaster. I wanted to have the un-enhanced flavor of the pork. Check out the photos of the pan and the results, and let me have your opinions on this method versus the foil wrap and grill approach. Thanks.

Just about all my stuff gets transferred to the oven when it gets wrapped.

Comment

Originally posted by Jerod Broussard View Post
      Just about all my stuff gets transferred to the oven when it gets wrapped.