Welcome!

This is a membership forum. Guests can view 5 pages for free. To participate, please join.

[ Pitmaster Club Information | Join Now | Login | Contact Us ]

Only 4 free page views remaining.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Help with Pulled Pork vs Brisket Please

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Help with Pulled Pork vs Brisket Please

I'm cooking for a group of 20 in a few weeks. I'm new to smoking, I've only done one brisket and one pulled pork. I smoke on my gasser.

I'd like to do brisket but I'm nervous about predicting the timing. Is pulled pork easier to cook? More predictable timing. More predictable results???

Thanks

Yes, pulled pork is more forgiving. You can up your cooking temp to hurry it along if needed. Predictablity on timing? There are lots of things that effect timing. Weather, the meat, your cooker......... Best thing I've found is to starter early, wrap up tight and hold in warn oven or cooler. Pork handles this better then beef IMHO.

Comment

What HawkerXP said. I've held butts for over 4 hours a time or 2 and the pulled pork was still amazing.

Comment

I third the motion..

Comment

Pork shoulder is much more forgiving forgiving than brisket. Shoulder holds in a faux cambro forever, and shredding or chopping it is simple. Go with the pork, and make some of the east Carolina mop or the Lexington dip. The vinegar compliments the fatty pork, serve it on on the side. If you can't make pork for diet/religion make a pulled chuck roast.

Comment

Fourth

Comment

Fifth...

Comment

LOL - I would say we have a majority. Thanx guys. Pulled Pork for the party it is. I just looked at prices - GAWD. I didn't realize how much cheaper a butt is compared to a chuckie or a brisket.