Welcome!

This is a membership forum. Guests can view 5 pages for free. To participate, please join.

[ Pitmaster Club Information | Join Now | Login | Contact Us ]

Only 4 free page views remaining.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

My first Perfectly Pulled Pork

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

My first Perfectly Pulled Pork

Hi all!

This is my first time here, so firstly hello!

On Sunday I attempted PPP for around 10 people. Following the advice of Spinaker I got my coals going at 5am, aiming for about an 8 hour cook.

I guess this post is mostly just to say "Look, I did it! My first pulled pork!"

It turned out brilliantly. Very happy guests, and even a round of applause! Thank you Meathead , for clear, descriptive instructions and recipes. I was definitely champ for a day.

In order to improve, I'm trying to keep a record of what I did. Here's what happened, followed by a few pics and video of the pull:

--------------------------
    Date: Sun 14-May-17
    What: 3kg (6.6lb) bone-in pork shoulder (skin removed) (Village butcher), £20.
    Meat prep: Removed most of fat cap. Dry brine on Friday night. Memphis Dust 6 hours before cook (last thing before I went to bed on Saturday).
    Kettle prep:
    Standard Slow n Sear setup
    10-12 lit coals in corner
    Unlit coals to fill rest of basket
    Foiled rest of charcoal grate
    Drip pan under meat
    3 chunks apple wood, + 2 more during cook.

Cook:
    Meat on at 5:30am, maintained kettle at 230-270F (getting better!), cooked for around 4.5 hours (10am) until centre hit 160F and stalled. Let it go unwrapped for 2 more hours to develop bark. Wrapped in foil at 12:30 and kept in kettle for another hour or so (pushed kettle temp to about 350F). Transferred to oven at 325F for final 1.5 hours until centre hit 203F at around 3pm. Total cooking time 9 hours. Rested for 1 hour. Pulled at 4pm. Poured drippings back over.

Result: 9/10