Welcome!

This is a membership forum. Guests can view 5 pages for free. To participate, please join.

[ Pitmaster Club Information | Join Now | Login | Contact Us ]

Only 4 free page views remaining.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

My first pulled pork on Sunday, need some advice

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

My first pulled pork on Sunday, need some advice

I'm doing my first pulled pork cookout at a local bar on Sunday. (This is a different bar from my other reports.) The owner bought three Oregon pork butts from an importer (expensive!) and I'll be cooking them on my Weber 22" kettle with the Slow'n'Sear. This is my first time to do pulled pork and I have a few questions.

I used the forum's advanced search to try to find other people who were also doing their first pulled pork to see if I could benefit from their experience, but I just got "The following words are either very common, too long, or too short and were not included in your search: first" when I tried.

Problem #1: what kind of bread goes with pulled pork? Meathead's recipe just says, "Mound it high on a nice bun." What kind of bun? Kaiser roll? Brioche? There are three kinds of bread available here I can think of to use: regular white sandwich bread, it's not Wonder Bread but it's a reasonable facsimile of white bread. We can use Chinese "bao" steamed buns, the kind that usually get stuffed with pork. These are easily available but I'm worried people will get the wrong idea about my BBQ and just think it's some ordinary Chinese roast pork bun you can buy for 25 cents at a shop down the road. Putting cole slaw on it would be kind of weird for them too, since they wouldn't be expecting it. I know a single shop in town that sells sesame seed hamburger buns, so we can use those as a last resort.

Problem #2: how much Memphis Dust will I need for 3 butts? A double recipe? The ingredients are expensive so I don't want too much left over.