Welcome!

This is a membership forum. Guests can view 5 pages for free. To participate, please join.

[ Pitmaster Club Information | Join Now | Login | Contact Us ]

Only 4 free page views remaining.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Pig roast help!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Pig roast help!

Hey all!

I think this is actually my first post here on the Forum, and I'm hoping that its in the right discussion board. Anyway, I'm a teacher and I"m going to be cooking a whole pig (on a spit) for our school's homecoming tailgate. Now I'm done about 20 or so Pig roasts in my day so I'm not exactly new to the experience, however, I've never done it away from home. I"ll be next to the football field with access to electricity and a water hose.

I guess what I'm asking for is what do I need? I made a list of things that I need to bring to the cook out, but I'm afraid I'm missing something. Mind helping me fill in any holes I may have in the list? (I'm only responsible for the pig and not buns or sauces, etc.)

Thanks all!

Hardware:
    • Cooker
    • Portable Grill and
    • Tables
    • Plastic
    • Wooden (For Cutting)
    • Knives
      • Cleaver
      • Boning knives
    • Paper Towels
    • Disinfectant
    • Short Shovel
    • Charcoal
    • Galvanized bucket (for ashes)
    • Aluminum Serving Trays
    • Cooking mitts
    • Pitt mitts
    • Silicon Mitts
    • Bus Tubs
    • Thermometer
    • Extension Cords
    • Lighter fluid
    • Bucket
    • Drill
    • Saber saw
    • Torch? Or lighter
    • Serving gloves
    • Aluminum Foil
    • Serving tongs

Welcome DanVergo I've never smoke a whole hog but your list looks good

Comment

• DanVergo
      DanVergo commented
      Editing a comment
      Thanks! We do it a little differently than most. Skin off, tons of salt, garlic, and apple juice. Pretty good combo.

Any wood chunks?

Comment