Welcome!

This is a membership forum. Guests can view 5 pages for free. To participate, please join.

[ Pitmaster Club Information | Join Now | Login | Contact Us ]

Only 4 free page views remaining.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Pork shoulder failure

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Pork shoulder failure

Somehow, I screwed up a pork shoulder. I have been smoking meats for 25 years. One thing I always counted on was pork shoulder, that always turned out great for me. This time, it turned out dry and tough. WTH? After say 50 cooks? Shoulder was the one thing I hadn't screwed up yet. This was probably the first time boneless. Doubt that was it though. I tend to blame the user.

Well, most of my past cooks were on a BGE. The BGE was great for long cooks. I no longer have a BGE because of another screw up. This was on a PBC. I have had trouble with long cooks with that. I added a lit charcoal basket to the PBC (for the first time ever) after about 4 hours and I think the temp went too high, blowing too fast through the temps that break down collagen. My guess. If I was certain, I wouldn't be posting.

I am actually considering a pellet grill for longer cooks.

I don't have any PBC experience, so nothing to offer there. Sometimes you get a tough piece of meat and your method won't do anything to fix it. I'll always have a pellet cooker because I just enjoy the simplicity of the cook. I'll smoke on my kettle every once in awhile for a change of scenery but that's as adventurous as it gets for me.

Comment

• smokin fool
      smokin fool commented
      Editing a comment
      +1 on the tough meat theory, I've had the same thing happen to me.
      Sometimes you get Petunia's soft shoulders and sometimes you get Porkies tough old arse.
      I don't think it was yours or the PBC's fault.

• bbqLuv
      bbqLuv commented
      Editing a comment
      It was the PBC