Welcome!

This is a membership forum. Guests can view 5 pages for free. To participate, please join.

[ Pitmaster Club Information | Join Now | Login | Contact Us ]

Only 4 free page views remaining.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Boom. Boom. Voila! Is Dough Ball Salvageable?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Boom. Boom. Voila! Is Dough Ball Salvageable?

I’m trying to make Vito Iacopelli’s single pizza crust (https://youtu.be/Tz4JLRQ2EPE) recipe, and things have spun out of control. When I started spreading out the dough ball it was obvious that it wasn’t sturdy enough to retain a pizza shape when moved. All I could think of was to add a little flour and let it sit for awhile, but after an hour nothing had changed. I’ve now gathered it up into a ball. Should I put it on the fridge, try again in awhile, or toss it?

This is my first attempt at making a crust, so it’s not like I was expecting it to go smoothly….

What do you mean by not sturdy enough? Did it stretch too easily, or did it try to spring back to the original shape? Or was it something else?

Put it in the fridge until we get it figured out...

Comment

• Sid P
      Sid P commented
      Editing a comment
      It stretched too easily and was sticking to the counter.

Still question... you arent trying to just work with the poolish (the 100ml of water, honey and 100g of flour) are you?

did the dough ball look smooth and tight like it does around the 9 minute mark? Did you dump it out into flour like he does?

Comment

• Sid P
      Sid P commented
      Editing a comment
      No, I made the poolish last night and added the second round of ingredients tonight. I thought my dough ball looked pretty good except for being a little flatter than Vito’s, and yes, I dumped it onto a pile of flour. I did only let it rest for an hour at the point (9:47) he says 1-2 hours.

• rickgregory
      rickgregory commented
      Editing a comment