Welcome!

This is a membership forum. Guests can view 5 pages for free. To participate, please join.

[ Pitmaster Club Information | Join Now | Login | Contact Us ]

Only 4 free page views remaining.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Pizza experiments

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Pizza experiments

I am by no means a pizza expert, but post this in the hope that it helps some and gets me suggestions from others.

I tried a bunch of different things to see what matters and what doesn't, what I like and don't for the very basics of a thinner crust pizza. I tried all this with the same dough, the same sauce, the same toppings. In my home oven at 525 on a cast iron pizza pan. I cooked pizzas with 150 grams of dough, spread by hand to about 10 inches. I tried two pizzas each time so I could try them side by side to get a good comparison. They took about 5 minutes each to bake.

First, I found that what I like best is a sauce made with a can of San Marzano tomatoes crushed by hand, with a little olive oil, salt and basil. Didn't like any of the store bought sauces nearly as much. None of the store bought pizza doughs were as good as what I made, which was a Neopolitan style, 3 day ferment. For the tests I just used mozzarella and pepperoni. The crust gets tough if you overwork the dough, not good. Cooling the pizza on a wire rack for a few minutes is better.

1. KA bread flour vs 00 flour. The 00 seemed to me to be just a little better, but that could be that I knew what it was. It was slight if anything. I read once somewhere that 00 makes more of a difference at higher temps, so it might make more of a difference in an oven higher than 525. I haven't double checked that. In my oven, I don't think I will go out of my way to use 00.