Welcome!

This is a membership forum. As a guest, you can click around a bit. View 5 pages for free. If you would like to participate, please join.

[ Pitmaster Club Information | Join Now | Login | Contact Us ]

There are 4 page views remaining.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Brisket Flat Question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Brisket Flat Question

I am cooking lunch for the sales staff at one of the stores I manage this coming Tuesday. The lunch starts at 11:30am. To stay within my companies budget I got three flats, two are about 6 pounds and one is 7 pounds. I've never done just the flat before so I'm not sure the adjustments that I need to make. Here is my plan, please let me know if I'm overlooking something or just wrong about it all.

Sunday night I will trim and salt all three flats. This will give them at least 24 hours to dry brine.

Monday night I plan to start my RecTeq 590 pellet smoker at 10pm setting the temp at 225°. Then pull the meat out of the fridge to apply my rub. The meat should go on the smoker by 10:30pm. I plan to keep a close eye on internal temperature and wrap in pink butcher paper when it hits 160°. Then placing them back on the smoker. Hopefully that helps me get them done by 10am.

Does 10.5 to 11 hours of cooking time seem correct for the three flats? Or is that too long since each one is only 6-7 pounds?

I plan to keep them wrapped in the butcher paper and a towel, placing them in a cooler and slice them at the luncheon as needed. Or would it be better to slice them at home and put in an aluminum tray to serve out of?

Thank you in advance for any help you can provide!

How thick? A good thick flat can go 15 hours. They are the stall champions.

I like to put my meat in cold, then kick on the pellet pooper. Keep whole as long as possible. Have a little juice or mop sauce for serving.

Comment

They are about an inch to an inch and a half thick. Should I start them earlier?

Comment