Welcome!

This is a membership forum. Guests can view 5 pages for free. To participate, please join.

[ Pitmaster Club Information | Join Now | Login | Contact Us ]

Only 4 free page views remaining.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Grind seasonings in with burger?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Grind seasonings in with burger?

Has anyone ever blended the seasonings right in when grinding the meat? I’m new to grinding my own burgers, but I ground some chuck roast in the blender last week, and it was amazing! So I bought a hand-crank grinder, and I have some grocery store ribeye (2lbs) left over,.. supposed to be choice, but honestly, the marbling is non-existent, looks & tastes like select or below...only ended up with it because the case steaks looked ok, so I had them cut me 2” thick steaks, didn’t see the lack of marbling until I got home.
    Anyway, I now have 2 lbs of lean ribeye, and plenty of fat trimmings that I’m going to grind up for burger. I’m planning to grind it up with the new hand grinder tonight, along with extra fat. I’d like to do half with pepper, garlic, onion... and the other half with that plus Italian seasoning. I’ve always put the seasoning in (except the salt) when I make the patties, but now I’m thinking about adding the seasoning when I grind it, then the salt when I grill them.
    Has anyone tried this?

I haven't, only when pattying them, but it makes sense to. You can salt patties ahead of time too like you would a steak, just not recommended to mix salt in the patty. But honestly with burgers it doesn't matter much, you bite the whole thickness of the patty so where the salt is is largely a moot point.

Comment

• patcrail
      patcrail commented
      Editing a comment
      It does seem like mixing the salt in could mess with the moisture/texture of the meat??? Not sure, but I’ve been going with MH’s recipe for steakhouse burgers, and salting right before searing.... so far so good!