Welcome!

This is a membership forum. Guests can view 5 pages for free. To participate, please join.

[ Pitmaster Club Information | Join Now | Login | Contact Us ]

Only 4 free page views remaining.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Brisket question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Brisket question

Full disclosure: I’m trying to get along with briskets. I’ve done a five total brisket cooks (I know I’m only beginning), however, I had a weird thing happen today.

Started Ed with A 17lb packer that had been frozen and then thawed. I trimmed and dry brined for 24 hours and used some of Malcom Reed’s AP Rub too. Then injected with beef broth with a scoop of Prime Dust whisked in. Rubbed with Black Ops Rub then on YS-640 at 225 on top rack. Placed a temp probe (Thermoworks) in flat and Maverick Probe in point with another Maverick probe monitoring grate temp.

My my question is that my point was done way earlier than my flat. It was at 180 6 hours into cook while the flat was at 154. I wrapped (had guests to meet and feed later). When I pulled the brisket it was 203 in flat, however, the point was 212 and had been there awhile waiting for flat.

Thoughts or explanations appreciated.

The taste was good. Flat was a bit dry, but, had good pull and when dipped in juices was tasty. Trying point tonight and will report back.

Thanks for the help,

Sweaty

Full packer- thickest part of flat to probe tender, rest for 2-3 hours. Don't give a flip about the point, it is just along for the ride and always comes out OK.

Point only- 207-ish internal, cube up for burnt ends, or rest for 2-3 hours.

Comment

• Sweaty Paul
      Sweaty Paul commented
      Editing a comment
      Thanks! I appreciate your help. Will keep this in mind on next cook.