Welcome!

This is a membership forum. Guests can view 5 pages for free. To participate, please join.

[ Pitmaster Club Information | Join Now | Login | Contact Us ]

Only 4 free page views remaining.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Brisket at a Party. Smoke today - Serve Tomorrow

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Brisket at a Party. Smoke today - Serve Tomorrow

Hiya Pit Crew,

I am new to the Pit and new-ish to smoking. I have done a few Pork Shoulders, ribs, Turkey Breast and chickens in my 22" Weber Kettle so I thought it was a good time to try the King of BBQ meats - the Brisket. I salted an 8 pound brisket on Thursday, cooking it today and serving it tomorrow to my Fantasy Football League.

I woke up at 3am this morning and had the meat on the grill by 4am smoking at a varying 210-230 degrees (the rain and wind this morning made temperatures hard to hold). At about 9 am, she stalled at 160 and did not move a degree so I wrapped it and placed the brisket into the oven at 225 around 10am to finish off (was I to put Apple Juice in with the wrapped brisket?). I intend to cook up some burnt ends tonight for dinner (the reason for starting so early) so it will be a two day feast.

My question comes to how to serve the brisket tomorrow. I thought I could slice the meat ahead of time and serve it from a slow cooker in some Mop Sauce to keep the cuts from drying out. Does that sound viable? If not, any ideas?

The idea is to have sandwiches available whenever someone wants to eat so slicing each sandwich will be difficult.

Thanks for any help. I will post a photo of my success (or failure) if I make it through the day

Jake