Welcome!

This is a membership forum. Guests can view 5 pages for free. To participate, please join.

[ Pitmaster Club Information | Join Now | Login | Contact Us ]

Only 4 free page views remaining.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Steak advise needed

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Steak advise needed

Ok, so I get a pleasant text yesterday from a friend who's neighbor is a meat purveyor or owns a farm and constantly drops meat over. Says he has some rib steaks for me so here is what he brought see attached pic. So I have about 7 steaks about 1 1/2 inches thick. What should I do, meat is pretty marbled, I think he said it was Kobe.

1. Can I dry age an individual steak with those Umai dry bags or better served with an intact roast?

2. Sous vide them and then sear.

3. Indirect on the SnS and then sear?

Attached Files

I'm no expert - not even close, but when I see the process of dry aging, it dries the surface to the point that it must be removed. With steaks only 1.5" thick, I think you would loose too much meat if you dry aged them. Great lookin' steaks BTW.

Comment

Wow! Someone gave you one helluva gift!!! Those sure do look like Wagyu, that marbling is incredible, and WAY beyond what you see with most Prime cuts. Hell, ANY Prime cut I'VE ever seen!

Hot and fast, minimal seasoning, that's what I've seen, watched and read.

Congrats!

<edit> Oh and whoever gave you those needs a real nice thank you present!

Comment

• boftx
        boftx commented
        Editing a comment
        Hot and Fast?!? ARRRRGGGGHHHHHH!!!!!

Those call for a SLOW smoke to about 120F then a screaming hot sear to reach 130F. Let carry over take them to a perfect 135F.

• dirtman
        dirtman commented
        Editing a comment
        I agree slow cook to 115 and then finish hot. I wouldn’t want mine to exceed medium rare. Those are high grade steaks!