Welcome!

This is a membership forum. Guests can view 5 pages for free. To participate, please join.

[ Pitmaster Club Information | Join Now | Login | Contact Us ]

Only 4 free page views remaining.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Brisket/Weber Kettle Questions

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Brisket/Weber Kettle Questions

Yet another brisket newbie here. I started a brisket at 12 midnight last night on my 26" weber kettle. I am using the "fuse" or "snake" technique, with the briquettes arranged 2x2 for about 3/4 of the circumference of the grill. I have used this general technique successfully for 6-hour rib cooks so I figured it should work for the first 8 hours of a brisket cook (at which point I am going to be wrapping in foil anyway). I woke up twice in the middle of the night and the grill temp seemed to be holding at around 235F, which I figure is about right.

So I wake up for good at 7:30 and the brisket is at 178 IT. I wrap in foil and put the brisket in the oven at 225F to finish. It is now 10AM and IT is 190F. It appears this sucker is going to be done before noon but our guests don't arrive until 5PM. What do you recommend to keep the brisket moist and tender for 5-6 hours? I have the faux cambro ready to go but I suppose I could also fire up my propane smoker (it's one of those vault-style upright box looking things) and keep the brisket on the top shelf with the flame low? I can't use the oven this afternoon because my wife is making sides and two pies.

Also, I love brisket. For best results, do you recommend (A) the 26" weber kettle with fuse technique (or some other technique), (B) the upright propane smoker, or (C) invest in some other bbq apparatus? I am too lazy to cook with actual wood. I do prefer charcoal to propane but I hate tending coals (thus the fuse technique).