Welcome!

This is a membership forum. Guests can view 5 pages for free. To participate, please join.

[ Pitmaster Club Information | Join Now | Login | Contact Us ]

Only 4 free page views remaining.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Little Brisket, Still Takes Forever?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Little Brisket, Still Takes Forever?

I live in Texas. (I wasn't born here but got here as fast as I could... as the saying goes).

I've been smoking BBQ for several years. Confession, I've never done a brisket. (And I live in Central Texas... nobody stone me.)
    Tonight was the first try.

Since it was just my wife and I, I opted to buy a trimmed flat chuck from the local grocery store weighing in at 2.15 lbs. This is on my KBQ (3rd smoke on it).

I also did a rack of pork ribs at the same time (they were positioned well away from one another on different racks on my KBQ so I don't think there was any evaporative bubble interference with each other).
    Ribs finished up in 4-5 hours (normal). Brisket is currently at 8 hours 10 minutes and reading 175-180 F depending on where I poke it.

I really expected this to cook faster given how small it is.

Admittedly, I have little basis for comparison. Normally (other than ribs) I cook pork shoulders, which usually weight in at about 8-10 lbs ea. They take about 14-16 hours at 225 F on my BGE. I've never done a small cut like this before so I'm curious what others experience is? (I'm still learning my KBQ, I've been an egghead for years). The KBQ cooks ribs of the same weight about 1.5-2 hrs faster than I was getting on the BGE. (Since it is a convection oven, I suppose this makes sense).

One thing to remember is that the weight really doesn't matter. It is more about the thickness of the meat you are cooking.
    So if you have a 8 lb shoulder, and you cut it into four pieces, it will be done at about the same time as an intact shoulder. (Maybe a little sooner, but not much)

Comment