Welcome!

This is a membership forum. Guests can view 5 pages for free. To participate, please join.

[ Pitmaster Club Information | Join Now | Login | Contact Us ]

Only 4 free page views remaining.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

First time pastrami

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

First time pastrami

Hello all, It's my first time posting so be gentle. I picked up a 14 lb whole packer brisket from Costco the other day and was wondering about turning the whole thing into corned beef/pastrami. I have seen the pastrami recipes on the site and they all seem to call for 4-6 lbs of meat. I'm wondering if I can simply ramp up the ingredients and brine time, or would it be better to only use the tip and find something else to do with the rest? Thanks in advance!

I know the one key ratio is the weight of meat to the amount of curing salt--don't overdo or under do that. In general, the weight of meet to the other ingredients would scale as well. I also think the cure time would likely be longer for the thicker point than the thinner flat. Others will be along shortly and will have more experience than I have.

What I have done in the past is use the flat for pastrami and the point for smoked brisket.

Comment

After trimming, separate the point and cut the flat in two pieces and then all 3 should be about the right size to follow the ratio's for each piece.

Comment

Originally posted by CaptainMike View Post
        Hello all, It's my first time posting so be gentle. I picked up a 14 lb whole packer brisket from Costco the other day and was wondering about turning the whole thing into corned beef/pastrami. I have seen the pastrami recipes on the site and they all seem to call for 4-6 lbs of meat. I'm wondering if I can simply ramp up the ingredients and brine time, or would it be better to only use the tip and find something else to do with the rest? Thanks in advance!
        See:

Originally posted by Meathead