Welcome!

This is a membership forum. Guests can view 5 pages for free. To participate, please join.

[ Pitmaster Club Information | Join Now | Login | Contact Us ]

Only 4 free page views remaining.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

small 1.5 pound brisket... how?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

small 1.5 pound brisket... how?

I am new to this, so feel free to 'set me straight' if I'm posting out of turn, etc. I did a search, but found nothing about a small brisket... so here goes....
    I buy my beef from a local farmer. It's grass fed, grass finished and butcher-aged. Included in my 1/4 cow was a Brisket... but it's 1.5 pounds!
    I've read how to prep a 8-13 pound brisket, but something this small... how the heck do I do it? What should I expect?
    It's 1:Pm now... can I grill tonight and expect it to be excellent?
    I have a Rec Tec 680, and 4 cooks with it under my belt. I have Meathead's book, and have read most of it. I'm still a greenhorn, and need some direction here. I don't want to ruin the brisket, even though it's small.

Any suggestions or help here?
    TIA.

Welcome Techmaster

Comment

I'd prep the same as any other hunk of beef like that: dry brine for as long as you can and season as desired. As for the cook, don't let the small weight fool you, the thickness will come into play when it comes to getting it all the way to probe tender. I'd start checking for that around 185F or so, but it could need to go all the to 200 - 205F.

It should get to around 140 - 150F fairly quickly, under 2 hours, but then it *might* hit a stall or at least slow down. I wouldn't be surprised by a 3 - 4 hour cook depending on what your cooking temp is.

Keep in mind that a slab of beef short ribs can take 8 hours or more, so 4 - 6 hours for this might be reasonable depending upon temps and meat thickness.

Comment

A pound and a half? At this point I would just grind it up for hamburger or corn it and turn it into pastrami.