Welcome!

This is a membership forum. Guests can view 5 pages for free. To participate, please join.

[ Pitmaster Club Information | Join Now | Login | Contact Us ]

Only 4 free page views remaining.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Smoke with steaks?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Smoke with steaks?

My brother in law will be in town this weekend so it's the perfect time to have him help us with the 2 pound ribeye in the freezer. My question for you charcoal guys since I'm a charcoal newbie, is do you all add a bit of smoke when cooking a steak using the reverse sear or do you find charcoal (briquettes in my case for this cook) is enough on its own? If you add smoke, how much? I got a bag of Stubbs to try out if that makes a difference.
    Last edited by tugboat; May 18, 2016, 06:31 PM.

I don't smoke my steaks, but if you must, just sprinkle the chips over your charcoal fire before placing the meat on. Wet the chips and they'll smolder longer which will result in a stronger smoke flavor. A steak cooks fast enough to avoid any issue related to dirty smoke.

Good luck and post pics of the cook!

CurlingDog Here's what I'm referring to, in this photo. Meathead recommends a foil packet, but soaking in water works also.
    Attached Files
    Last edited by SteveFromLafayette; May 19, 2016, 06:27 PM. Reason: Added a photo

Comment

I'm not interested in smoking per se, just didn't know if a bit of smoke would add some nice flavor or not. I certainly don't want to overpower the "steak-ness" so unless the consensus is otherwise I'll just leave the smoke off this weekend.

Comment

You'll have to be the judge as everyone's tastes vary, but I recommend sticking to straight charcoal.

Comment