Welcome!

This is a membership forum. Guests can view 5 pages for free. To participate, please join.

[ Pitmaster Club Information | Join Now | Login | Contact Us ]

Only 4 free page views remaining.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Brisket Competition Question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Brisket Competition Question

Hey all, I'm new to the Pit so I thought I'd start off with a question.
    A buddy and I that really like eating Que and smoking got the wild hair to start a team and enter a cookoff local to him. We are really just recreational cookers and it's fun. However, the rules of the competitions, tend to limit the time you have to dry or wet brine your meats, particularly the brisket. I usually wet marinade my brisket (really a brine with other flavors) for 24hrs before smoking and it's always juicy. For this upcoming competition, we can't season or do anything but trim the meats before 6pm. Turn times are chicken at 11am, ribs at 1pm and brisket at 3pm. That essentially leaves me 21hrs from first salt to walking it to the judges table. For competitions, I usually use a 14lb+ birsket to get good even slices.

So my question is, can you guys provide tips/experience on the best way to brine/salt the brisket quickly? Just throwing a salty rub on the top and smoking it for 18hrs tends to produce dryer meat. Follow-up question, I've used foil to wrap my brisket in the past but during competition, it tends to blow up a bit and not slice well. Any tips on wrapping pre and post to help me out?

FYI, i've read Meatheads Brisket process and use it just too long for this cook with resting.

That's why most competitors inject brisket! I've been known to rub as soon as possible, like at 6 pm straight up and let the slurry sink into the meat as long as possible. I'd apply the rub and let the brisket sit in a cold cambro as long as I could. That or injection are your options. I hate injecting a Snake River Farms brisket!

Comment