Welcome!

This is a membership forum. Guests can view 5 pages for free. To participate, please join.

[ Pitmaster Club Information | Join Now | Login | Contact Us ]

Only 4 free page views remaining.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Alternatives, options and experiences? Smoked Chuck burnt ends

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Alternatives, options and experiences? Smoked Chuck burnt ends

I think this is a very interesting topic w/ the price of prime brisket, and everything else for that matter.

I read the previous post when someone here made the Jeff Phillips recipe and it made me scratch my head. Not because I thought there was anything wrong with it. I'm sure its amazing and delicious. It's just very different from anything I've read or seen before regarding smoked chuck burnt ends.

I'm a relative newb. I've done several briskets and loved the results. Burnt ends were my very fave... every time I cubbed the point, tossed in sauce and gave them a little bit of crisp char.

I have a KBQ so things tend to cook faster. I did three thick prime chucks. They were very well marbled. They only took about 3 hours to got great color and 165 internal. I wrapped to finish, barely another two hours, more like 1:45. Was very well done, though still tender and very juicy. I wanted well done, falling apart so I could pull.

Please forgive my newb questions, I mean no disrespect but am wondering out loud. I've watched several YouTube videos on making chuck burnt ends by Jeremy Yoder, Malcom Reed and several others. Been wanting to try them.
    • Smoking a 3 lb chuck for 8 hours, then two hours more seems like a long time (Jeff Phillips recipe).
    • I also, wonder what the difference is between simply applying slather (perhaps even Worcestershire sauce) and rub and wet marinade?