Welcome!

This is a membership forum. Guests can view 5 pages for free. To participate, please join.

[ Pitmaster Club Information | Join Now | Login | Contact Us ]

Only 4 free page views remaining.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Venison

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Venison

I was gifted 2 - 3 to 4 pound pieces of venison. Was going to dry brine and smoke them. I've never done any venison before. Looking for input. Temps/rubs/etc. Thanks

For me venison is best medium rare as it can get dry pretty fast. I love venison dearly.

Comment

I've only ever grill venison due to the lack of fat. I agree with lschweig, it can dry out fast.

Comment

Usually for chops I will pan fry them and flip them just when you start to see the red juices come out on the uncooked side and then pull them when the red juices starts to come out of the cooked side. Then I deglaze the pan with red wine and reduce the wine quite a bit.

For burgers I use the same method but do not deglaze the pan.

Oh and when I take a deer in for processing I always add 20% pork fat to the ground portion of the deer.

As it sounds like you may have roasts I would think to not go higher than 120 or so IT, but don't know for sure. You can always cook a little more, but you can"t uncook.

Comment

For roasts I'd recommend a hotter cook (325-350) to no more than 130 IT.

Comment

Can't add much to what has been said so far. Venison doesn't do "low & slow" real well & unless you are braising as a pot roast, DO NOT overcook it! Check out honest-food.net/wild-game/venison-recipes/ for some great venison recipes. Done correctly, it is awesome!!! Enjoy!

Comment

• LangInGibsonia
              LangInGibsonia commented
              Editing a comment
              I'm a huge Hank Shaw disciple. I recently won an autographed copy of Buck, Buck, Moose and was super excited. It's a great book and has a place of honor next to Meathead and Alton Brown's books.