Welcome!

This is a membership forum. Guests can view 5 pages for free. To participate, please join.

[ Pitmaster Club Information | Join Now | Login | Contact Us ]

Only 4 free page views remaining.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Dry Brining, times for various meats

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Dry Brining, times for various meats

I am new to this concept of Dry Brining, but it sounds great. The amount of salt per pound has been discussed and I am comfortable with that. But as for the time element, how long should I dry brine steak, whole chicken, cut up chicken, pork back ribs, pork spare ribs, pork shoulder, beef ribs, brisket, etc.

I am sorry if this is a complicated question, but maybe there is a chart or rule of thumb posted somewhere on this site.

Thank you, PelletHeadSteve

Thinner pieces like ribs, steaks and chicken parts only need a few to 12 hours. Much thicker cuts like beef roasts, pork shoulder, whole chicken and brisket benefit from at least 24 hours and up to 48 or more. The rate of penetration decreases over a predictible curve (Dr. Blonder referred to it as the square root of time) so the deeper it has to penetrate to get to the center of the meat, the longer it should brine, but it isn't linear. As an example (and no, the math probably isn't accurate, but I think I have the concept straight) say the salt penetrates 1/8" in the first hour. It will penetrate another 1/8" in the next 2 hours and another 1/8" in the next 4 hours and another 1/8" in the next 16 hours. Or something like that. Remember that you salt all sides so the salt only has to penetrate 1/2 the total thickness to get all the way to the center. Also, the rate of salt penetration speeds up when heat is applied so the salt doesn't have to be all the way to the center before you cook, but should be a good way in.

I don't know if this helps/answers your question or not.

DEW

Comment

Here's my thought Steve: