Welcome!

This is a membership forum. Guests can view 5 pages for free. To participate, please join.

[ Pitmaster Club Information | Join Now | Login | Contact Us ]

Only 4 free page views remaining.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Incredibly hot horseradish

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Incredibly hot horseradish

This is an incredibly unique product that I have been ordering for 30 years. I have introduced it to a lot of people, not all have appreciated it but others always want more. This place used to make 3 different heats, now just one with the newer owners, but they just make the hottest one, used to be called nitro but I consider it atomic. I kid that this stuff has a half life of 6 months, because it does mellow with age, and I have received just one order that was not hot, but they usually are pretty consistent and I think make it to order now so it is fresh. The heat also cooks off, like on a beef roast, so safe to cook with. It is great for mixing your own cocktail sauce or in a Bloody Mary, in minute quantities.

I have taken it to bars to share with those I know, others always want to try. Great way to meet people. Heh. I can guarantee this is a new experience.

I give the same instructions every time someone wants to try it. Woe to those who don't listen. Take a deep breath, take a toothpick or something similar, just touch it to the horseradish and touch it to your tongue. Don't breathe in for 15 seconds, it is over that fast. If you breathe in, you will be coughing uncontrollably for 5 minutes and feel like steam is coming out your ears. It is that potent.

One guy I knew tries every horseradish under the sun, I gave him a jar. He spread some on a sandwich, took one bite, scraped the horseradish off, took another bite, and threw the sandwich away. Just another warning.

Some say what is the point, but others say they have to try it, so I put this out there. The jars are small, but it is a lot!