Welcome!

This is a membership forum. Guests can view 5 pages for free. To participate, please join.

[ Pitmaster Club Information | Join Now | Login | Contact Us ]

Only 4 free page views remaining.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Deer brisket

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Deer brisket

I do a little deer hunting behind my house and was wondering if a deer brisket would cook the same as a beef brisket.

Jerod Broussard

Comment

i would imagine it would be way too lean to cook like a beef brisket but i have no experience

Comment

Not sure. Having skinned plenty deer I've never attempted to save what could be a brisket.

I figure it would take a pretty big deer just to get something that weighed over 1 pound.

Comment

I have to agree with DeusDingo, I'm thinking you are going to have a moisture problem due to lack of fat. If you listen to Aaron Franklin, he is even particular about what types of cows you need to use for brisket. Those that are more free range aren't fatty enough for a good brisket and he recommends staying away from them even though they are more expensive.

Comment

I would cook it like a trip-tip or flank steak. That brisket is going to be so lean, you cant go low and slow on it. Your better off with the hot and fast method. Especially, since it will be a much smaller cut of meat. Just my two cents. Let us know what you end up doing.
            Last edited by Spinaker; August 3, 2016, 09:19 AM.

Comment

There's a nice hunk of fat there where it wld be....works great in the suet feeder haha 😆

Comment

Probably would be too lean as you say. I'll just keep some steaks and the tenderloin and grind the rest in burger as usual. Thanks for your input.

Comment

• Juddlight
                  Juddlight commented
                  Editing a comment
                  One thing i do enjoy tho is the ribs...rubbed n smoked til they tug apart...😋