Welcome!

This is a membership forum. Guests can view 5 pages for free. To participate, please join.

[ Pitmaster Club Information | Join Now | Login | Contact Us ]

Only 4 free page views remaining.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

First Lamb Shoulder for Father's Day

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

First Lamb Shoulder for Father's Day

I am planning on smoking a lamb shoulder for Fathers day following Meathead's recipe with the Kentucky Black BBQ Sauce. I am wondering if anyone has done this before and has any tips or things I should know as I've never done this cut before.

Specifically I was wondering if it is a good idea to inject the shoulder with anything prior to cooking it, like you might do with a brisket.

I have done it a number of times just like Meathead describes and love it for a lamb shoulder! I love the taste of lamb, but this recipe really mutes that taste some and is especially good to serve to those who think lamb is "gamey". (Good lamb is not at all gamey but that's a different argument, for a different day.) Anyway, this recipe is supposedly what the Kentucky folk use to cook mutton which is an older sheep and a little stronger flavored. Probably why this recipe is so popular for mutton. With a good lamb shoulder, most won't even know it's lamb unless you tell them. Cook it low and slow until it's "pullable" and you are GOLDEN! If you have domestic North American grain finished lamb, no need to inject. It's plenty fatty enough that it won't be too dry. I have little experience with the imported grass fed stuff from Australia/New Zealand. Good luck and ENJOY!!!

Comment

• EdF
      EdF commented
      Editing a comment
      The New Zealand stuff is good too. Just make it!