Welcome!

This is a membership forum. Guests can view 5 pages for free. To participate, please join.

[ Pitmaster Club Information | Join Now | Login | Contact Us ]

Only 4 free page views remaining.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Grilled Chicken Thighs - To marinade or not?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Grilled Chicken Thighs - To marinade or not?

Plan to grill some bone-in, skin-on chicken thighs this weekend on a Weber propane grill low and slow. Struggling with whether I should marinade beforehand of simply apply dry seasoning and oil prior to grilling. Any advice?

We like using Italian dressing as a marinade. I've never done chicken low n slow before. Would think it would dry out. Usually hot indirect with a little sear at the end for crisping up the skin. Let us know how it goes. Did you check out the chicken recipes on the free side?

Comment

• HawkerXP
      HawkerXP commented
      Editing a comment
      Oh, we like to let our dark meat go a little higher internal temp then the breast. Up to 175*.

• DreamOn
      DreamOn commented
      Editing a comment
      Me too...

^^^^Italian or Diana's southwest marinade works here

Comment

I'm not a big fan of marinading chicken thighs anymore. I started using Meathead's Simon and Garfunkel rub and never looked back.

Comment

• HawkerXP
        HawkerXP commented
        Editing a comment
        S&G is great!

Marinade away, but I agree that you'd be better off not going low and slow. Stay away from the direct heat so you can get the inside done before the outside burns, but do it relatively quickly. If you are using a marinade with sugar it's going to be tough to sear without burning some of the sugars.

Comment