Welcome!

This is a membership forum. Guests can view 5 pages for free. To participate, please join.

[ Pitmaster Club Information | Join Now | Login | Contact Us ]

Only 4 free page views remaining.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Turkey breast tip for smoking

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Turkey breast tip for smoking

Hi folks im pretty new to smoking. I did a smoker in a 55gallons drum barrel like the hunsaker, I have a nice and fresh turkey breast from my backyard and wondering the best way to smoke it and be really moist. I look around to know if I could dry rub for a day or wet rub for a couple of day or for a week? Anyone have a stunning recipe or tricks?

I’m not much on Turkey, however, I imagine someone will be along soon to help you out with a suggestion or two. I will say, however, welcome to The Pit from Hays, Kansas!

Comment

Dry brine and inject at least 24 hours before. Use Mayo as a binder and apply your favorite salt free rub just before putting it in the pit. Smoke over pecan at 325° until internal is 160°. Pull carve and serve.

Comment

I do several a year. Since this is a nice fresh one with no grocery store brining, do an over night salt rub of 1/2 tsp per lb to dry brine it in fridge. Then use Meathead Simon & Garfunkel rub mixed with a stick of butter probably about a table spoon of the rub. Use unsalted butter. Let it sit on the counter over night for the herbs to blend through butter. As your lighting the fire pull the breast out of the refrigerator and rub the herb butter under the skin. If you need to pin it back down with some skewers of tooth picks.

Watch your temps. Don't let the breast go over 160, let it rest lightly covered with foil and carry over cooking will take it to 165. Cook it at 325 - 350 for a crisp skin.

I use cherry wood.
        Last edited by mountainsmoker; November 4, 2019, 12:55 PM.

Comment

• grantgallagher
          grantgallagher commented
          Editing a comment