Welcome!

This is a membership forum. Guests can view 5 pages for free. To participate, please join.

[ Pitmaster Club Information | Join Now | Login | Contact Us ]

Only 4 free page views remaining.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Thanksgiving turkey on a Weber Kettle - no SnS

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Thanksgiving turkey on a Weber Kettle - no SnS

Good afternoon all,

My first post here, and what an amazing community it is. Can't wait to get to know you all more!

So, I'm looking to cook a 12-15 lbs turkey this week on one of my Weber Kettle's (22.5"). I'm really looking for some advice and technique from the experts here as I've never done a turkey before (smoked a few whole chickens before). I don't have a Slow-n-sear (yet), so will just be using traditional coal-placing methods.

When I've done brisket and pork butt's before, I have had great success with the ring/snake method. Would indirect cooking work best for something like this? I've read a couple of posts where others have used this method...about 1/2 chimney of unlit coals underneath lit ones, bottom vents fully open and top about 1/2, etc.

Thank you all in advance, I appreciate the help!

Welcome to the Pit from Baltimore, MD! I usually do the half chimney of unlit under lit coals. I have the SnS, but it works without the SnS as well. Indirect is definitely the way to go. 325-350. You will want a water/gravy pan underneath as well. Look here. You will find more than you ever thought possible about turkey.
    http://amazingribs.com/recipes/chick...ed_turkey.html
    Last edited by Thunder77; November 21, 2016, 01:15 PM.

Comment

• scottdware
      scottdware commented
      Editing a comment
      Thank you! My wife and I love Baltimore, and go there a few times every year. Thanks for that link, just like every other part of this site, such a cache of knowledge!

Buy two fire bricks from Tractor Supply and use them to divide the coals off to one side.

Comment