Welcome!

This is a membership forum. Guests can view 5 pages for free. To participate, please join.

[ Pitmaster Club Information | Join Now | Login | Contact Us ]

Only 4 free page views remaining.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

What science says about brining your bird

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

What science says about brining your bird

Full disclosure -- I'm a PhD engineer with a chemistry background. I spent years working in chemistry related fields, and still like to geek-out about chemistry, math, and engineering whenever I find like-minded souls.

In particular I enjoy learning more about the chemistry of food and cooking. I was intrigued by a video I stumbled over today from the Reactions channel on Youtube that is hosted by the American Chemical Society (ACS). Because I have limited internet bandwidth, it's not practical for me to watch all the videos y'all share here, but I made an exception for this one, because ... well, chemistry!

This video, which is about 12 minutes long, delves into the chemistry of what salt does to the proteins in meat. In addition to that, the hosts presented the results of a blind taste test in an effort to answer the question: Does brining chicken make a noticeable difference in taste and texture?

The TLDR answer is ... yes, yes indeed, it does. No surprise to most of us here ... but why?

In a nice combination of humor blended with serious chemistry, the hosts show how they arrived at that conclusion -- https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MlXSRQnIDYI

I will watch it later, waiting for a Zoom meeting here in a minute. Still, my understanding (I'm from the med world, not the chem world) is that the salt breaks protein links, so tenderness ensues.

Comment