Welcome!

This is a membership forum. Guests can view 5 pages for free. To participate, please join.

[ Pitmaster Club Information | Join Now | Login | Contact Us ]

Only 4 free page views remaining.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Inspired by Troutman, Oatmeal Bread!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Inspired by Troutman, Oatmeal Bread!

As our friend Troutman has stated, not too many people are posting recipes, only pictures of cooks. Well, here is a bread that I have been making for over twenty years, and it is my family's favorite autumn bread.

Ingredients:
    2 pkgs active dry yeast
    1 cup uncooked rolled oats
    5 cups of bread flour
    2 tsp salt
    1/2 cup warm water
    2/3 cup molasses
    1 cup hot coffee
    1/2 cup boiling water
    2 eggs, well beaten
    1/2 cup shortening (can substitute butter)

Method:

Dissolve yeast in 1/2 cup warm water

Meanwhile, to a large bowl add:
    the oats, the salt, molasses, and shortening or butter.
    Pour in the boiling water and hot coffee, and stir to melt butter
    Add one cup of flour.
    When the mixture in the bowl is lukewarm, Stir your softened yeast, and add to your mixing bowl.
    Add 2 cups of flour and beat thoroughly
    Add the beaten eggs, and beat to mix thoroughly
    Add the remaining flour, and mix to make a firm dough.
    At this point I usually let the dough rest 20 minutes to autolyze.

If you use a stand mixer, knead on low speed for 4 minutes, then on #2 speed for 4 minutes. You can also knead this dough by hand. When the dough is ready, shape into a ball, and place in an oiled bowl. Place in refrigerator to chill for at least two hours. (I usually let it go overnight.)