Welcome!

This is a membership forum. Guests can view 5 pages for free. To participate, please join.

[ Pitmaster Club Information | Join Now | Login | Contact Us ]

Only 4 free page views remaining.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

And Now for Something Completely Different

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

And Now for Something Completely Different

I've been baking for several months now. I've concentrated on basic white sandwich bread in a pan. I use the white bread variation 3 in The Bread Baker's Apprentice. It comes out great and makes terrific sandwiches. Even better dinner rolls IMHO. I've been doing everything by hand, which has been very educational.

Thinking it's time to expand I gave the Lesson 2 bread from The Fresh Loaf website a go. It's still a yeast raised bread. Someday I'll try sourdough but for reasons not worth going into, I can't do a starter right now.

The recipe only gives volumes so I over-hydrated. The lessons I learned from hand mixing saved the day. It came out looking good and tasting good. Went really well with dinner. I'm happy with it and looking forward to baking more different breads.
    Click image for larger version  Name:	DSCN0293.JPG Views:	2 Size:	3.04 MB ID:	368048
    Last edited by gwschenk; August 24, 2017, 08:38 AM.

Ops, Sorry!
    Thought this was my que:

Click image for larger version

Name:	Completely Different 001.jpg
Views:	133
Size:	134.9 KB
ID:	368051
    Great lookin' loaf; thanks fer sharin' pics, experience, methods, etc.`!!!

Comment

That's a nice lookin batard.

Comment

Great job! Bread is still elusive to me. But, I haven't really tried in several years. I'll have to start again one day. I think I can eventually manage something edible.

Comment

Too much humidity where I live to do bread.

Comment

• Thunder77
            Thunder77 commented
            Editing a comment