Welcome!

This is a membership forum. Guests can view 5 pages for free. To participate, please join.

[ Pitmaster Club Information | Join Now | Login | Contact Us ]

Only 4 free page views remaining.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

My Raspberry Salsa story

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

My Raspberry Salsa story

Raspberry salsa seems to be trending lately around here, which reminds me of a pivotal event in my cooking journey. So settle in for Story Time with Radshop...

As a self-taught cook who's not great at following complicated recipes, I always experimented. I liked my creations, and my family seemed to like them. But I didn't have confidence that they were actually something other people would really like. And my wife (now ex, herself not a good cook) wasn't very supportive - she would be like, "Hey, my whole family is coming over - are you sure you want to try something that might not turn out? Remember that one time when..." So I would play it safe and make the standard, boring stuff.

About 10 years ago I was new in a key consulting role for a client, and they asked me to join their annual management retreat. One of the things they did as a team building exercise was a group Iron Chef competition - with the twist that not every group got the same basket of ingredients and you could negotiate & trade with other groups. It was fun, but since I didn't really know people, I hung back. And it turned out that the women stepped up and did the cooking while the men watched. Go figure.

Our group made an omelette, which seemed pretty good, but the guys in the peanut gallery were worried it was too plain. Plus the vegetables weren't chopped very well, so there were some big chunks poking out.