Welcome!

This is a membership forum. Guests can view 5 pages for free. To participate, please join.

[ Pitmaster Club Information | Join Now | Login | Contact Us ]

Only 4 free page views remaining.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Good commercial KC BBQ sauce without liquid smoke?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Good commercial KC BBQ sauce without liquid smoke?

I'm a big fan of Trader Joe's Kansas City BBQ sauce. It's currently my fave. But it has liquid smoke. Why go through all the trouble to control the Smokey flavors of BBQ if it's going to be over-ridden by the sauce? A quick perusal through the grocery store shows most commercial sauces have it. I understand why, but am wondering if there is a good one without it. I've been getting good at making my own thanks to the recipes here, but sometimes you want someone else to do the work.

I like Stubbs origanal

Comment

• djotaku
      djotaku commented
      Editing a comment
      According to their ingredients it lists natural smoke flavor. Is that not code for liquid smoke?

• Mr. Bones
      Mr. Bones commented
      Editing a comment
      djotaku
      Not sure if it's any kinda 'code'; liquid, or dry, it means smoke flavor. Not what yer hankerin' after.
      Jus' checked my SBR, it has smoke flavor, as well.
      Good luck in yer quest...

You just may have unearthed a quandary that no one has recognized. Hmmmmm..... we shall see what the AR wizards come up with. I even checked a bottle of Asian BBQ sauce & its ditto on the flavor thing.

Comment