Welcome!

This is a membership forum. Guests can view 5 pages for free. To participate, please join.

[ Pitmaster Club Information | Join Now | Login | Contact Us ]

Only 4 free page views remaining.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Newbie here with a brand new pellet grill

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Newbie here with a brand new pellet grill

Hey Guys!

I've been a long-time fan of the website and to be honest, my brother signed me up for the forum. After clicking around, I should've signed up forever ago.

I recently won a Traeger Tailgater 20 at a Ducks Unlimited event and it just arrived! I still need to assemble it and fire it up. I haven't smoked much meat and usually do my steaks sous vide.

Any suggestions for a total newbie? What should I try first?

Welcome to the Pit from Dallas!

Comment

Welcome. It’s got to be ribs!

Comment

Welcome to The Pit. I suggest you start with either a pork butt or a chuck roast. They are cooked the same way and both are very forgiving. Recipes for both are on the free side. With either one you should dry brine over night if possible using 1/2 tsp kosher salt per lb of meat.
        Last edited by RonB; June 4, 2020, 08:01 PM.

Comment

Welcome from Maryland. I always suggest a pork butt as a first cook. Easy to cook but takes long enough so you get to know your cooker well. I like to cook them at 275.

Comment

Pork butt is a great first cook

Just be sure to practice those ribs before your brother visits.

Comment

• Duckman_OK
              Duckman_OK commented
              Editing a comment
              You know.... That Tailgater is made to be portable. Maybe we could play with it at Momma's house...

Welcome from Colorado ... and I’d suggest pork ribs (specifically "Last Meal Ribs" from the free side of AmazingRibs.com).

Comment

Welcome from the California Delta. I'm going to jump on the butt wagon. Easy and forgiving.

Comment