Welcome!

This is a membership forum. Guests can view 5 pages for free. To participate, please join.

[ Pitmaster Club Information | Join Now | Login | Contact Us ]

Only 4 free page views remaining.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Greg from Pacific Northwest

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Greg from Pacific Northwest

Hey all, just signing in - a complete novice since September 2018.
    I’m a little north of Seattle..
    I am into curing and smoking my own bacon per Meathead’s instructions.
    I plan on smoking my first brisket (flat) a day or so after Christmas. Any advice regarding the brisket flat will be much appreciated.
    Merry Christmas!
    Greg

Come on guys and gals - there has got to be expertice out there re: a brisket flat.
    How do I stay true to brisket? Do I cheat or can I go for a thick bark and still have tender beef?

Comment

Welcome to The Pit Greg. I think a lot of people here are early to bed. All the typing here wears them out. That means the West Coast members are pretty lame goin' to bed before 8 PM.

Cook your brisket like you would cook a pork butt:

Anywhere from 225* to 275* would be safe. But first dry brine your flat. Salt it with kosher salt about like you would salt any meat, but on both sides. I'd go ahead and brine it now to give the salt plenty of time to penetrate. When your smoker is ready, add a rub if you want, or just some pepper and garlic powder if you'd like. Then smoke it while it's still cold. You want it to be probe tender when you pull it. For beef, that normally happens anywhere from 195* to over 200*.
      Some like to inject their briskets to aid in keeping it moist - it's your choice.
      Some like to wrap their briskets in foil after it reaches ~ 160* to ~ 185*. When it's done, wrap it in foil and keep it hot for a minimum of 1 hr, but you can go 4 or 5 hours if necessary.

There is a great brisket article on the free side that goes into more detail.

Comment