Welcome!

This is a membership forum. Guests can view 5 pages for free. To participate, please join.

[ Pitmaster Club Information | Join Now | Login | Contact Us ]

Only 4 free page views remaining.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Lock Stock and Barrel just joining after a few years of BBQing and Smokin, about 52 to be exact.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Lock Stock and Barrel just joining after a few years of BBQing and Smokin, about 52 to be exact.

After using commercial smokers for so long I decided to do my first build at 60 years old. As a licensed locksmith I travel all over Texas to customers opening safes, programming car keys, changing locks and yes letting people into their houses, cars, offices and RV's.
    Picked up an unusual size propane tank for free at a customer's house down in Refugio, Texas. "No, you can not pronounce it!" And decided to do a small reverse flow build. 72 gallons is the size and around 67 inches long and 18 inch diameter. Anyway, learning to weld on the fly and making the pieces stick even if it ain't pretty. Came across this group at Amazing ribs.com and realized there are some serious pitmasters out there like myself so I joined. Love the information and science behind the smok'in and look forward to picking your brains for more tidbits as I fabricate this small R.F. smoker.

Welcome from Winnipeg. Sounds like you have a great set up. Looking forward to your stories. Pictures always welcome too.

Comment

Welcome Lock Stock and Barrel

Comment

Welcome to the pit from Southern Illinois! I also learned to weld to build a smoker, now can not quit welding or smoking food.

Comment

• Spinaker
          Spinaker commented
          Editing a comment
          Hahahaha, Pitmaster problems 101, my friend. You got it bad!

• HouseHomey
          HouseHomey commented
          Editing a comment
          Funny!